Shri Luxmi Narain Sanatan Dharam Mandir, Lajpat Nagar-III

Green Temple

Green Temple Description 

Shri Laxmi Narain Sanatan Dharam Mandir Facility of * * * * *

1. Harvesting : Whenever water to be offer to God with the help of Harvesting Machine we do it in such a way that water neither dirty or wasted.

2. Composite : Whatever Flower we offer to God with the help of Composite Machine later on Flower we make Manure.

3. Electricity : Facility of Tube Lights, LED Lights and Air Condition with rating start of 5.

Read more

About The Temple

Shri Luxmi Narain Sanatan Dharam Mandir is one of the popular temples in Lajpat Nagar-III, New Delhi. Lajpat Nagar Colony, New Delhi came into existence by developing the land area south of India Gate beyond Dargah of Hazrat Nizammudin and the basti of Bhogal in the name of Great freedom fighter Punjab Keri Lela Lajpat Rai in order to rehabilitate the people who migrated as refugees from the erstwhile province of Punjab, Sind and NWF after the partition on India in August 1947, wherein Shri Sanatan Dharam Sabha was originally established in the hutments of Block ‘E’, Krishna Market , Lajpat Nagar-I, and was registered by registrar of societies, Delhi under Registration No. S-466(1950-1951). The Puja of moving idols of Deities was performed by Pt. Maya Ram Pujari.

A piece of land measuring 1200 Sq yards for the construction of Mandir building was obtained from the Govt. of India (L&DO;) in Lajpat Nagar-I which was subsequently got exchanged in Lajpat Nagar-II and in addition obtained the adjoining plot measuring 929 Sq yards for social & cultural purpose in order to serve the public of entire Lajput Nagar I, II, III, IV. The work for construction of the building was started by selfless, dedicated and sincere members of integrity under the Presidentship of Seth Kalu Ram Ahuja, an eminent personality of the time in the association of knowledgeable General Secretaries for 23 years till his demise in December 1973. They raised funds by arranging Religious Parbhat Pheries , Bhagawat Kathas and Sammelans etc. and built a big Aarti hall on the plot of 1200 sq. yds. accommodating three shrines therein on the design of the Birla mandir, New Delhi. The foundation stone of which was laid down on Sharwan Purnima (Rakshabandhan) of 1958 (29.08.1958) by his Majesty.

And the Darshanik idols of Deities Bhagwan Shree Laxmi Narain Ji gifted by Sh. Mool Chand Bhatia & Company, Electrical Contractors, Asaf Ali Road, New Delhi were installed in the Central Shrine with great pomp and Show during march 1961 and the Puja was performed by Pt. Maya Ram Ji. The idols of the Deities as mentioned below were also installed in the other two shrines and on the wall of art hall:-

  • Bhagawan Shree Shiv Shanker Ji gifted by Sh. Gokul Chand Khurana of Vinobha Puri, Lajpat Nagar-II , New Delhi.
  • Bhagawati Mata Vaishnu Devi Ji.
  • Sankat Mochan Shree Hanuman Ji gifted by Smt. & Sh. Panna Lal Seth of J- Block, Lajpat Nagar-III, New Delhi.

Another Sat Sang Hall (Iqbal Devi Hall) was built with the donation of Sh. Des Raj Chhabra, Ring Road, Lajpat Nagar-IV, in which Pratima of Bhagwan Shri Krishna Ji was fixed on the wall by the Sabha but the platform was built by the donation of Smt. Kaushalya Devi of Block-L, Lajpat Nagar III, New Delhi.

The religious functions were regularly celebrated in most befitting manner with the blessing of Tyagmurti Shree 108 swami Gurcharan Dass Ji Maharaj, Pradhan Sadhu Samaj, Kankhal, Haridwar along with Karmisht Parchar Mantry, Sh. Surrinder Nath Mehniratta.

The Sabha continued celebrating the religious functions as usual thereafter under the Presidentship of Sh. Kanwal Kishore Taneja and fortunately in August 1975 & September 1977 functions were graced by His Majesty.In the presence of itehas Kesri Prof. Jagan Nath Gothi. The construction work remained in progress simultaneously as stated below and the Sabha flourished by leaps and bounds under the Presidentship of Sh. Kanwal Kishore Taneja in association of Genl. Secretary Sh. Ram Prakash Budhiraja till his demise in September, 1986 and thereafter till his own sudden demise in November, 1990, during which the following works successfully executed.

The Arti Hall was extended by accommodating (a) Idols of deities Bhagwan Shree Ram Ji Darabar gifted by SH. Om Mehta son –in-law of President and (b) Idols of Deities Bhagwan Shri Krishna Ji and Radha Rani Ji.

A big Hall ( Baraat Ghar) with the basement and four rooms with the attached baths on the plot measuring 929 Sq yds. The expenses of which were partly borne by Lala Goverdhan Lal Trehan of C- Block, Lajpat Nagar-III, New Delhi.

A Charitable Dispensary under the name and style of “ Shree Sanatan Dharam Sabha(Regd) Goverdhan Lal Trehan Charitable Dispensary” on the same plot out of the donation mostly given by him.

Three rooms on the first floor on the existing ones for the residence of Pt. Maya Ram Pujari donated by Panna Devi Bajoria Charitable trust, Kolkata.

A Shivalya with gold coated Kalash on its Shikhar in the courtyard of Mandir premises installing therein the idols of Lord Shiva Parivar gifted by Sh. Narinder Anand of Defence Colony.

A high Shikhar on the main gate beautifully decorated with the marble stone of Ganesha Ji in front of the Mandir building the cost of which was partly footed by Sh. R.R. Chadha, Vice President and marriage bureau was also set up.

The nomination of Sh. R.R. Chadha was as President on the sudden demise of Sh. Kanwal Kishore Taneja in November, 1990. Patron Chuni Lal Chawla was unanimously nominated as working President. On 14/11/1999, Sh. Prem Prakash Magu and Sh. Balkishan Sharma were elected as President And Genl. Secretary Respectively, however the General Secretary Sh. Balkishan Sharma suddenly expired And Sh. R.B. Gupta was nominated , but he could not continue for long therefore Prem Prakash Magu, President, Handed over the charge to Sh. Sat Pal Harjai.

After the death of Shri P.P. Maguji , the President ship goes to Shri. Prem Juneja & Secretary to Shri Y.P. Ashok, Joint Secretary to Shri Rakesh Khanna , Vice President to Shri Deepak Dhawan, Yogesh Taneja, Prachar Mantri to Shri Rajiv Kohli, Treasurer to Shri Ashok Puri , Cashier to Shyam Sabharwal.



Read more
President Name: Shri Prem Kumar Juneja 9810116872
Vice President Name: Shri Yogesh Taneja & Shri Rakesh Khanna 9810031504
Chairman Name: Shri Y. P. Ashok 9811094810
General Secretary Name: Shri Deepak Dhawan 9810104548
Treasurer Contact Number: Shri Rajiv Kohli 9312244800
Joint Secretary Contact Number: Shri Ashok Kumar Puri 9818761664

Image Gallery

Visit Us

Block- I, Lajpat Nagar-III, New Delhi-110024

Contact Us 9870346010